Main Street Douglas
__logo__
Loading
Back
|
Places / Douglas Hospital

Douglas Hospital

Historic Downtown Douglas

Despite modern renovation and remodeling entailed by its adaptation to residential use, the old Douglas Hospital building still retains much of its historic, picturesque character. The octagonal turret with bell-shaped roof that ascends from the southeast corner of the building is the most immediately striking element— its lines mimicked both by the gentle curve of the broad roof that overhangs the porch, immediately below, and by the gable projecting from the east facade, the roof of which is pitched at an angle approximately equivalent to the angles in the facets of the bell roof. (The roof skylights are a modern addition, not original to the building.) The roof plan as a whole is exceedingly complex, especially for a building of this size, and was dictated largely by the complexity of the functions the building was constructed to serve. In fact, it was the first (and only) hospital building in Douglas—and indeed, in all of Converse County—for about the first forty years of the 20th century. It was founded in 1903 by a Canadian-born registered nurse, Elizabeth D. Dickson, a sister to early Douglas businessman George W. Dickson, Jr. The building accommodated a small medical ward, three private patient rooms, an operating room, and, on the second floor, residential quarters for the medical staff. A living room, dining room, and kitchen were also included on the first floor, while the full basement housed a furnace and storage areas. By 1920, an addition had been constructed at the rear of the building, probably to house additional staff. The hospital ceased operations sometime in the 1940’s (several years before completion of the Converse County Memorial Hospital) and the building was converted into a private residence.